CEC Briefs are our daily and weekly reports on a specific current topic of political or regulatory interest provided direct to our clients. The article archive is then posted here for open searches a month after it is sent out to our clients. Please revisit regularly for updated material. If you wish to receive our updates as they are released, please see our Intelligence Offer.

POLAND: PiS announces EP candidates

Yesterday, PiS’ spokesperson Beata Mazurek announced the main candidates, which will be put forward by the party for the upcoming European Parliament elections. The candidates have been agreed by the party’s political committee. Furthermore, Mazurek stated that the campaign will be headed by Tomasz Poręba, who previously ran the party’s local election campaign.

In comparison to the recent local election, PiS took a different approach and decided to come first in officially announcing its most important candidates.  It does not come as a surprise that it decided to nominate some of its strongest and most loyal names. Though, commentators agree that the nomination of Interior Minister Joachim Brudziński was unexpected.  The party will clearly aim to rely on its base electorate and will use these candidates to rally that support. Unlike the local elections, there are practically no new political faces amongst the presented candidates. Still, it remains to be seen how the full regional lists will be composed – especially considering that they will also have to account for nominations of the ruling party’s partners from the United Right.

The PiS party candidates, include:

Region 1 – Pomeranian
1. Anna Fotyga
2. Jarosław Sellin

Region 2 – Kuyavian– Pomeranian
1.  Kosma Złotowski
2. Tomasz Latos

Region 3 – Podlaskie – Warmińsko-Mazurskie
1. Karol Karski
2. Krzysztof Jurgiel

Region 4 – Warsaw
1.Jacek Saryusz-Wolski
2. Ryszard Czarnecki

Region 5 – Masovian
1. Adam Bielan
2. Maria Koc

Region 6 – Łódź
1. Witold Waszczykowski
2. Joanna Kopcińska

Region 7 – Greater Poland
1. Zdzisław Krasnodębski
2. Andżelika Możdżanowska

Region 8 – Lubelskie
1. Elżbieta Kruk
2. Beata Mazurek

Region 9 – Subcarpathian
1. Tomasz Poręba
2. Bogdan Rzońca

Region 10 – Lesser Poland – Świętokrzyskie
1. Beata Szydło
2. Ryszard Legutko

Region 11 – Silesian
1. Jadwiga Wiśniewska
2. Grzegorz Tobiszowski

Region 12 – Lower Silesian – Opole
1. Anna Zalewska
2. Beata Kempa

Region 13 – Western Pomeranian – Lubuskie
1. Joachim Brudziński
2. Czesław Hoc